The Mysterines’ New Album – What We Know So Far

272 0

Merseyside‘s alternative rock outfit, The Mysterines, are on the brink of unveiling their second album, “Afraid of Tomorrows”, marking a highly-anticipated sequel to their critically-lauded debut, “Reeling”, which secured a spot in the Top 10 of the UK charts.

The album is slated for release on June 21st via Fiction Records, boasting a fresh array of tracks that delve into deeper and darker territories within The Mysterines’ sonic landscape.

Crafted under the expertise of Grammy Award-winning producer John Congleton (known for his work with St. Vincent and Angel Olsen) in Los Angeles, “Afraid of Tomorrows” represents a significant evolution for The Mysterines, delving into profound themes of introspection and growth.

Lia, accompanied by George Favager (bass), Callum Thompson (guitar), and Paul Crilly (drums), describes the album as a reflection of life’s complexities, weaving together tales of trauma, addiction, fear, and the relentless pursuit of vitality.

Leading the charge is their captivating single, “Stray”, which debuted on BBC Radio 1 as Clara Amfo’s Hottest Record, alongside their latest release, “Sink Ya Teeth”.

As part of the album build-up, the band is embarking on a record store tour across the UK this June, spanning from Rough Trade East in London on June 11th to Assai in Glasgow on June 26th.

Earlier this year, The Mysterines captivated audiences across the UK as the main support for Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes.

They’ve also secured a spot as special guests for Bloc Party’s monumental 20th-anniversary celebration at Crystal Palace Park on July 7th.

With a charged live presence, the band is gearing up to headline festivals across Europe and the UK this summer, including Live at Leeds, 2000 Trees, Truck Festival, and Tramlines.

Additionally, they’re set to embark on their largest headline tour of Europe and the UK this autumn.

Check out their upcoming tour dates below.

The Mysterines – ‘Afraid of Tomorrows’ Track List: 
1. The Last Dance
2. Stray
3. Another Another Another
4. Tired Animal
5. Jesse You’re A Superstar
6. Hawkmoon
7. Sink Ya Teeth
8. Junkyard Angel
9. Goodbye Sunshine
10. Inside A Matchbox
11. So Long
12. Afraid of Tomorrows

Record Store Tour Dates:
Tue 11th Jun – Rough Trade East, London
Wed 12th Jun – Rough Trade, Bristol
Thu 13th Jun – Rough Trade, Nottingham
Mon 17th Jun – St John’s Church, Kingston w/ Banquet Records
Tue 18th Jun – The Foundry, Sheffield w/ Bear Tree Records
Wed 19th Jun – Jacaranda Baltic, Liverpool
Tue 25th Jun – HMV, Manchester
Wed 26th Jun – Assai, Glasgow 

Summer Shows & Festivals:
24th May – In It Together Festival, Wales, UK
25th May – Live at Leeds in the Park, Leeds, UK
15th Jun – Brighten the Corners, Ipswich, UK
6th Jul – The Boileroom, Guildford, UK
7th Jul – Crystal Palace Park, London (supporting Bloc Party)
13th Jul – 2000 Trees Festival, Cheltenham, UK
25th Jul – Truck Festival, Steventon, UK
26th Jul – Tramlines Festival, Sheffield, UK
2nd Aug – Y Not Festival, UK

UK Autumn Tour:
Sat 19th Oct – Ulster Sports Club, Belfast
Sun 20th Oct – Saint Luke’s, Glasgow
Tue 22nd Oct – Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
Wed 23rd Oct – Thekla, Bristol
Thu 24th Oct – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, London
Sat 26th Oct – Olympia, Liverpool

Follow us here:

You can check out all episodes of our podcast on Spotify, Apple and YouTube, including interviews with DMA’s, Clint Boon, Robbie Knox, The Wombats, Jamie Webster, Clinton Baptiste, Scheiffer Bates, Omid Djalili and plenty more!

Related Post