The Howl & The Hum Are Back!

348 0

The return of Yorkshire indie outfit, The Howl & The Hum, has been confirmed by singer-songwriter, Sam Griffiths, with the unveiling of their first new material since 2021.

Following up on their critically acclaimed 2020 debut, ironically titled “Human Contact”, their sophomore album, “Same Mistake Twice”, is slated for release via Miserable Disco on September 6th, featuring the lead single and title track available now.

In “Same Mistake Twice”, Griffiths, in his second album under The Howl & The Hum moniker, delves into the turmoil and upheaval of recent years through 12 tracks showcasing his most candid songwriting yet.

Weathering the dissolution of his band, the global pandemic, and grappling with his musical future, he shines a light on the anxieties inherent in every breakup.

The lead single, “Same Mistake Twice”, sets the tone, with Griffiths’ melancholic baritone questioning whether we’d rectify our missteps if given the chance.

Teaming up with songwriters Elanor Moss and Matthew Herd (Seafarers), alongside producer Joseph Futak (Tapir!, Lilo), Griffiths draws inspiration from musical influences ranging from Big Thief and Phoebe Bridgers to Randy Newman.

Reflecting the eclectic musical landscape of the open mic nights where Griffiths honed his craft, while also delving inward to confront the pains of personal growth, “Same Mistake Twice” marks a full-circle progression.

Sam commented: “The lyrics are almost uncomfortably direct, which was intentional. It’s about finding beauty within the pain and seeking forgiveness amidst it all. In embracing honesty and withholding nothing, Griffiths discovers solace in the imperfections that define our humanity. Sometimes, we must make the same mistake twice.”

The new album is set for release on September 6th, 2024.

Follow us here:

You can check out all episodes of our podcast on Spotify, Apple and YouTube, including interviews with DMA’s, Clint Boon, Robbie Knox, The Wombats, Jamie Webster, Clinton Baptiste, Scheiffer Bates, Omid Djalili and plenty more!

Related Post